5th NBRM Research Conference Call for Papers

The National Bank of the Republic of Macedonia (NBRM) announces a call for papers for the 5th Annual Research Conference, traditionally organized to mark the anniversary of the country's monetary independence. The Conference will be held in Skopje, Republic of Macedonia, on April 7-8, 2016. It aims at bringing at one place researchers from academia and policy-making institutions, with a sole purpose of enabling a ground for a debate on relevant economic issues.

For more information please follow the NBRM link

wiiw mourns the passing of Professor Kazimierz Łaski

The Vienna Institute for International Economic Studies has the sad duty to inform you of the death of our esteemed and long-time colleague and former Director of our Institute, Professor Kazimierz Łaski (1921-2015). He played an active role in the Institute’s intellectual life until the very end.

Global Development Awards Competition 2015

The Global Development Network (GDN) invites researchers and organizations from developing and transition countries to submit research proposals and proposals for scaling-up development projects. The Global Development Awards Competition is an innovative award scheme launched by GDN with the generous support from the Ministry of Finance, Government of Japan. The Awards Competition recognizes excellence in policy-oriented research, supports research capacity development of researchers in developing countries and funds innovative social development projects benefiting marginalized groups in the developing world.Since its inception in 2000, GDN has provided US$ 3.7 million in awards and travel grants to finalists and winners.

For more information please follow the GDN link.

Free movement of workers and the case of Croatia

Isilda Mara and Hermine Vidovic (both wiiw) have published a study on 'Free Movement of Workers, Transitional Arrangements and Potential Mobility from Croatia'. For the study please follow the wiiw link.

Olga Radzyner Award 2015

In 2000, the Oesterreichische Nationalbank (OeNB) established an award to commemorate Olga Radzyner, former Head of the OeNB’s Foreign Research Division, who died in a tragic accident in August 1999. The award is bestowed on young economists for excellent research on topics of European economic integration and is conferred annually. In 2015, four applicants are eligible to receive a single payment of EUR 3,000 each from an annual total of EUR 12,000.
For more information please follow the OeNB link.